Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum for riders of all levels.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Bike parts

Go down 
+2
Vistagecko
shubbyalert
6 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
shubbyalert

Number of posts : 62
Registration date : 2009-02-21

Bike parts Empty
PostSubject: Bike parts   Bike parts I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 24, 2009 8:26 am

Hi I'm new to BMX and, while I'm waiting for my bike to show up in a few weeks, I'm trying to do as much research as I can about the sport. I'm getting a Kink Launch 2009 series. So right now, I'm trying to focus on the mechanical aspects of the bike.

Could anyone here give me a list of the parts that make up the bike and what they do, why they're so important, and what I should look for when getting new ones, etc. This will help me understand the bike and also help me upgrade later on. I've already looked the few parts I could dig up information on, but an actual list would help tremendously. Thanks a bunch!
Back to top Go down
Vistagecko
Forum legend
Vistagecko

Number of posts : 395
Registration date : 2009-02-12

Bike parts Empty
PostSubject: Re: Bike parts   Bike parts I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 24, 2009 8:56 am

Well, first and formost you have your cranks. The crank is attatched to the pedal and the sprocket. It cranks the sprocket as you pedal. Easy right?

Then you have your back flywheel. This is attatched to the sprocket via your chain, and makes the bike move. The flywheeel is apart of your cassete which is centered in the middle of your rim.

Generally in BMX you want a small sprocket. Smaller sprockets allow you to accelerate faster but do not have as high a top speed as bigger ones.

EX: A 43T sprocket will accelerate slower than a 25T sprocket, but a 43T sprocket will have a higher top speed than a 25T.